Technology-Free Retreats & Internet Addiction Disorder

Image

I have been interested in the idea of technology-free retreats because they speak into a relatively quiet current issue in society: the addictive nature of social media and smart phones. Average Americans spend 20% of their time on personal computers and 30% of their time on mobile devices, and as more social media options become available, and there are less options for mobile users who do not want internet access, applications, and texting on their phones, the amount of time Americans spend in virtual worlds will continue to increase.

As a response to the issues of Internet Addiction Disorder (IAD) and the general public’s experience of burnout, fatigue, relationship issues, and health decline, individuals around the world have begun assembling organizations to provide an outlet from technology, usually for a few days in remote, natural areas. Such organizations market their retreats as an escape from cultural pressures and anxieties, where individuals can spend time reflecting inward, connecting with people without technology, eating healthy, exercising, and living in the moment.

Accessibility & Cost

Technology-free retreats are not accessible to just anyone- Some activities, such as swimming, cooking, canoeing/kayaking, and yoga/guided meditation can limit or exclude disabled participants. More shockingly, I found that such retreats can cost anywhere from $500-$3,000 + travel expenses and insurance.

In one survey, 46% of Americans with mobile phones said their monthly bill was $100+, and 13% said their monthly bill topped $200 per month. With such high monthly phone bills, why would anyone spend hundreds or thousands of dollars more to be rid of their devices? When feeling bogged down by technology, the more sensible, economical, efficient response would be to simply turn off the computer, TV, and phone, and do something good for the body or mind, like go for a walk or read a book.

Control & Addiction

However, technology has proven to have a strong, sometimes inescapable hold on its users, as evident in the strong consideration for IAD’s inclusion in the 2013 next edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental disorders. Addiction is defined as “a strong and harmful need to regularly have something or do something.” Generally, if someone asks if I am addicted to technology, I would say no because I feel like I am in control of my usage; however, sometimes I find myself checking Facebook or Instagram without making a conscious choice, and sometimes I am unaware of the people and the world around me because I am browsing newsfeeds, reading articles, or posting content online. This happens regularly and it is harmful in that it: separates me from my immediate physical environment, prevents me from the face-to-face communication that I prefer, wastes time, and encourages procrastination and laziness.

Physical Mobility

Technology-free retreats would not exist if people were truly in control of their technology usage. The high prices of these retreats suggest that there is a public demand for mediators to remove people not only from technology, but from their physical environments that demand constant communication via computers, mobile phones, and social media. The desire or necessity of transplanting oneself to a technology-free environment implies that individuals need computers, smartphones, and regular access to the internet and social media to be considered functional members of society.

Would I be able to function in society without a personal laptop, smartphone, and regular internet access? Probably not…

As a college student, I cannot image how difficult my life would be without internet access at home, my laptop, and my iphone. Almost all of my homework and reading assignments are accessible online. I spend at least seven to ten hours each week doing research through UP’s online library, Google Scholar, and online magazines like The New York Times and Washington Post. Almost all communication with professors outside of the classroom is conducted online via university email. My assignments consist of essays and research papers typed and handed in via Moodle, UP’s online program. I view my grades and track my academic progress online. I order my books and schedule my courses online. I apply for loans and pay my tuition online. I would not be a successful or even a functional college student without regular internet access and a personal computer.

Some questions to consider

  • What do you think about technology-free retreats? Are they really helping people?
  • Would you consider participating in a technology-free retreat? Why or why not?
  • What do you think about IAD? Is it a real condition? To what extent are you “addicted” to the internet?
  • Do you think having personal computers, smart phones, and regular internet access make people more functional members of society?

For more information, check out this technology-free retreat: Digital Detox

2 thoughts on “Technology-Free Retreats & Internet Addiction Disorder

  1. Such an interesting topic, especially for a therapist! I feel like anything can be an addiction and internet addiction is defiantly a reality for people and is increasing in younger generations. The more I learn about it the more I feel like this kind of addiction is one of the most difficult. For example, eating disorders are considered to be some of the most challenging addictions to live with because humans can completely cut drugs (for example) out of their lives, but we can’t cut food out. We need food to survive. It’s like being a drug addict with drugs in your house 24/7… the torture! It seems like it’s hard to completely cut out technology- since we have access to it, if not at home, at school, etc. If they don’t have a smart phone, perhaps their parents do, or friends…. pretty much everyone around them! The most extreme internet related addictions I’ve heard about from my clients and in my studies are computer games… two that come to mind are “2nd life” and “world of war craft”.
    Always, addictions fulfill a need. In reality someone might not have a healthy self esteem, sense of self, or feel completely uncomfortable in their own skin, but they do somehow find comfort (unhealthy comfort but comfort nonetheless) when they are behind the computer screen or phone. Just like heroin that provides people with an “escape” from a reality they are not ready to face and be a participant in… it’s the same with internet. Life is a dance, we can either join the dance or not. As Joseph Campbell said… “I will participate in the game. It is a wonderful, wonderful opera — except that it hurts.” To take off the mask of addiction (internet addiction in this case) we have to become vulnerable to life’s sorrows, rejections, and, so much more. We have to love and accept ourselves which is take a life time for many!

    I know it’s MTV haha but they have a True Life episode of Internet Addiction, it’s pretty interesting! http://www.mtv.com/videos/true-life-im-addicted-to-the-internet/1708520/playlist.jhtml#series=2211&seriesId=5232&channelId=1

    Cheers my love!

    P.S. I think it’s such a good idea to go on an internet free retreat- you could just go out in nature where there’s no service! I will always advocate for more nature in my life and in others. Going out in nature without internet forces you to practice being present. Being present is a practice. Even without a phone in your hand it can still be hard for the majority of people to be present.

  2. I love your point about how internet addiction is comparable to a food addict living in a house with food or a drug addict in a house with drugs. The problem is that it feels so difficult and sometimes impossible to live in society without constant internet access. Technology is EVERYWHERE!

    I have been less dependent upon my phone since I started researching how social media and technology impacts individuals, interactions, and the environment, but even when I leave my technology behind, I feel like there is no escaping it.

    I went on a hike yesterday and I decided to leave my phone at home. About a mile down the trail, I heard music getting louder and louder, until I passed a man carrying a baby listening to music on his iphone. Even when I put myself in the perfect position to be technology-free in nature, someone in passing always reminds me of what I might be missing out on.

    I also really love Campbell’s quote about actively participating in the world, even though it may hurt. Vulnerability is a part of life, and if people removed themselves from every potential vulnerability, there would be no risks or mysteries to keep things interesting. I believe that there are greater risks in face-to-face communication, like being ignored or made fun of, but the rewards are much greater and more worthwhile, like your listener holding eye contact for more than a few seconds, or receiving a genuine smile or laugh, rather than emoticons.

    Thank you for sharing your brilliance!

Leave a comment